2016 Employee Awards


The annual Employee Appreciation and Awards Luncheon was held on Monday, April 18 in the CBC Dining Hall.  Employees were treated to a luncheon prepared by Chef Jill McCollum and her staff consisting of Greek salad, a gourmet pasta bar, stuffed garlic sticks, and assorted desserts. 

Employee of the Year Award

All non-faculty are eligible to receive this award (those who are classified support staff, administrative staff, coaching staff, or administration).  Nominations for this prestigious award are submitted in the form of a letter or e-mail to me personally describing how the nominee meets the following criteria: 1) Loyalty to the institution; 2) Demonstration of good work ethic; 3) Positive attitude toward fellow workers & students; and 4) Professionalism.  This year’s nominees were (in order of nomination): Jerry Clifton, Peggy Pillow, Rachel Steele, Amy Reed, and Pam Sims.

Congratulations to Amy Reed, Director of Non-traditional Enrollment, for being selected at the 2016 CBC Employee of the Year!  Along with a plaque and a monetary award, her photo will be displayed in the David T. Watkins Academic Building along with a listing of past winners.

The Outstanding Faculty Awards

The following faculty awards were presented along with a plaque commemorating the honor and a monetary award:

  1. Outstanding Faculty Award was given to Dr. Virgil Porter, Assistant Professor of Bible;
  2. Outstanding Adjunct Faculty Award was given to Rodney Bailey, Adjunct Professor of Business; and
  3. Outstanding Achievement Award was given to Chad Linn, PACE Department Chair and Director of Online Studies. 

Years of Service Awards

The following annual service awards were presented:

3 Years:
Paula Bender, Disability Support Services Coordinator
Aaron Brister, Chair of the Kinesiology Department and Head Baseball Coach
Lindsay Carruth, Administrative Assistant for Athletics
Katie Fleming, Student Records Assistant & Dickson Hall Resident Director
Patrick Jacob, Administrative Assistant for Military Relations at Camp Robinson
Lacie Mayo, Personal Admissions Officer
Mi-Seon Seong, Associate Professor of Biology
Pam Sims, Personal Admissions Officer
Chad Smith, Assistant Professor of Communication
Wes Sullivan, Head Men's Basketball Coach
Pam Teague, Director of Human Resources

5 Years:
Martin Jameson, Assistant Professor of Bible
Lori Lee, PACE & Online Coordinator for the Registrar's Office
Crystal Long, Systems Librarian
Michael Mayo, Director of Housing and Student Activities
Michele Ray, Assistant Professor of English
Maria Tavarez, Dining Services
Steve Wiles, Maintenance Assistant

10 Years:
Shanda New, Assistant Professor of Education and Chair of the Education Department
Deanna Ott, Director of Public Relations
Virgil Porter, Associate Professor of Bible
Gwenda Williams, Personal Enrollment Officer for Non-Traditional Programs

15 Years:
Doug Bible, Director of Information Technology

25 Years:
Jeff Riddle, Chair of the P. E. Dept and Professional Studies Division, Instructor of P.E. & Health

30 Years:
Suzanne Banister, Assistant Professor of Music

35 Years:
Bobby Wilkey, Maintenance Assistant

40 Years:
Joel Slayton, Chair of the Bible Department and Humanities and Arts Division and Professor of Bible & Biblical Languages

President’s Awards

Twelve Presidential Awards were also presented:

  1. For Excellence – Dr. Joel Slayton, Chair of the Bible Department
  2. For Loyalty – Lyle Middleton, Athletic Director/Women’s Basketball Coach/Golf Coach
  3. For Professionalism – Deanna Ott, Director of Public Relations
  4. For Teamwork – Crystal Long, Systems Librarian
  5. For Outstanding Achievement – Ken Prophete, Wrestling Coach
  6. For Customer Delight – Peggy Pillow, Administrative Assistant to the President
  7. For Hospitality – Lisa Padgett, Administrative Assistant for Admissions
  8. For Encouragement – Dr. Martin Jameson, Assistant Professor of Bible
  9. For Vision – Dr. Aaron Brister, Kinesiology Department Chair/Head Baseball Coach
  10. For Behind-the-Scences – Paula Bender, Disability Support Services
  11. For Dedication – Lacie Mayo, Personal Admissions Officer
  12. For Leadership – Katherine Ligon, Assistant Professor of Business
C.A.R.E. and FRED Awards

Two special awards were also presented.

  1. The C.A.R.E. Award, for “Creating a Rare Experience” for the benefit of employees, students, and visitors was given to Pam Sims, PACE Personal Admissions Officer; and
  2. The “Fred Award” for embodying the four principles of The Fred Factor: (1) making a difference each day, (2) having a heart for people, (3) changing ordinary moments into memorable ones, and (4) leading by example, was given to Rachel Whittingham, Library Director.


Back to News Listing


© Central Baptist College 1501 College Avenue Conway, Arkansas 72034

voice: (501) 329-6872
fax: (501) 329-2941


Central Baptist College is committed to transforming lives through education that integrates Christian faith and academic excellence in a Christ-centered environment.